The Deepest Secret

The Deepest Secret

A Novel

Downloadable Audiobook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Wishing for a normal life after being diagnosed with a rare medical condition that makes him lethally sensitive to light, 13-year-old Tyler roams the nighttime streets to observe the neighborhood family lives he covets only to become a key witness in the disappearance of a young girl. Simultaneous.

Random House Digital
For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we're scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves. Eve Lattimore's family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world. Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control--and some secrets that not even love can conceal. Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power--a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.Praise for The Deepest Secret "A taut family drama . . . smart and thrilling."--People "Elegant, poignant, and utterly riveting . . . a suspenseful tale of love, forgiveness, and sacrifice that will leave you asking how far a mother really should go to protect her family and wondering about the cost of the secrets we all keep, even from ourselves."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia "Exceptionally moving and unrelentingly suspenseful . . . everything a great novel, and thriller, should be."--Providence Journal "Superb . . . The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. . . . A gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Carla Buckley masterfully portrays an ordinary family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis."--William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob "Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this compelling blend of ripped-from-the-headlines suspense and close-to-your-heart characters."--Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fear NothingFrom the Hardcover edition.

Findaway World Llc

What if you did something unforgivable—and had to live with it? This intimate family drama for readers of Jodi Picoult explores the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.

Eve Lattimore is barely keeping things together. Her husband works fifteen hundred miles away, leaving Eve to juggle singlehandedly the demands of their teenaged daughter and fragile son. Tyler was born with XP—the so-called vampire disease: even one moment of sun exposure can have fatal consequences. So Eve does what any mother might do: she turns their home into a fortress. Every day, she watches the sun rise and fall, and keeps a close eye on her child. Friendships fall away. Her marriage is on the rocks. Her daughter’s going through something but won’t talk about it. Still, Eve believes that it’s all a matter of time before a cure is found, and everything can resume its normal course.

Until the night she makes a terrible decision, and it’s not only the sun she has to hide from.



Baker
& Taylor

Wishing for a normal life after being diagnosed with a medical condition that makes him lethally sensitive to light, Tyler roams the nighttime streets only to become a key witness in the disappearance of a young girl.

Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, 2013
ISBN: 9780804192040
Branch Call Number: eAudiobook
Characteristics: 1 sound file : digital
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top