The Missing Place

The Missing Place

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
"Set against the backdrop of North Dakota's oil boom, two very different mothers form an uneasy alliance to find their missing sons in this heartrending and suspenseful novel from the Edgar Award-nominated author of Garden of Stones. The booming North Dakota oil business is spawning "man camps," shantytowns full of men hired to work on the rigs, in towns without enough housing to accommodate them. In such twilight spaces, it's easy for a person to vanish. And when two young men in their first year on the job disappear without a trace, only their mothers believe there's hope of finding them. Despite reassurances that the police are on the case, the two women think the oil company is covering up the disappearances--and maybe something more. Colleen, used to her decorous life in a wealthy Massachusetts suburb, is determined to find her son. And hard-bitten Shay, from the wrong side of the California tracks, is the only person in town even willing to deal with her--because she's on the same mission. Overtaxed by worry, exhaustion, and fear, these two unlikely partners question each other's methods and motivations, but must work together against the town of strangers if they want any chance of finding their lost boys. But what they uncover could destroy them both... Sure to please fans of Sandra Brown and Gillian Flynn, The Missing Place is a moving chronicle of survival, determination, and powerful bonds forged in the face of adversity"-- Provided by publisher.
"Edgar-nominated Sophie Littlefield (author of the critically acclaimed GARDEN OF STONES) writes suspenseful women's fiction sure to appeal to fans of Sandra Brown or Gillian Flynn. When two young men vanish from an oil rig in North Dakota, no one seems in a hurry to find them...except their mothers, two women from very different worlds who must work together to find their sons"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2014.
ISBN: 9781476757841
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
rarsenault
Jun 06, 2017

An excellent story with a very different turn. Enjoyable.

m
mztory
Jul 27, 2015

Good story but it got a little long and dragged out or me.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top