The Amateurs

The Amateurs

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
12
1
"Four teens who met on an online cold-case solving forum attempt to solve another teen's murder"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Los Angeles ; New York : Freeform Books, 2016
ISBN: 9781484747353
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
chantelle2018
May 15, 2019

This book is amazing! You seriously won't regret picking it up, it's a fantastic read that will keep you on your toes the entire time!

j
jorahlikestobike
Jan 01, 2019

I had no trouble starting this book and eating it right up. The character development and dialogue was not as good as the AMAZING pll series which i have read a zillion times, but all the secrets and romance was good enough 4 me! At the end there is a HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE plot twist and it gave me nightmares... its good tho. scarier than pll

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 01, 2018

The Amateurs by Sara Shepard is a suspenseful mystery book about a group of young teenagers who come together to solve a cold case. The story begins with Seneca Frazier, an eighteen-year-old that is addicted to crime. After seeing a post on the Case Not Closed message board, her and her friend, Maddy Wright, spend spring break in Connecticut trying to crack the case. Throughout the story, several others join the group to solve the difficult case. The Amateurs is a book filled with shocking twists and turns as well as bits of humour and romance that will keep you wanting to read more. I would recommend this book to anyone that is into mystery and thriller. Sara Shepard did an excellent job with her thrilling twists and well-structured plot. It was a very fun and interesting read and if I were to rate this book, I would give it a 4/5.
@phlanets of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

m
matthiassywong
Aug 01, 2018

The amateurs is a great book where a group of people from the same organization called Case Not Closed. The book has a near infinite amount of twists and unravels what seems to be a simple cold case into a long intricate well thought plot. I really enjoyed the book and finished it very quickly. I would recommend this book looking for an exciting read with a great plot and mystery

h
heidielise
Jun 21, 2017

This book was really good! I can usually never stop reading Sara Shepard books :P
The ending, obviously, like all of her books had a major plot twist!!! Be prepared, nothing is as it seems.

VaughanPLKim Apr 25, 2017

Fans of Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game will enjoy Sara Shepard's first installment in her latest series. Like Shepard's previous books, there are plenty of pop culture references and hints of romance with the mystery. At times the dialogue had me rolling my eyes, but there are enough twists and turns to keep you guessing.

a
aliciamarie
Mar 09, 2017

This is not my first Sara Shepard book. I have read the entire Pretty Little Liars series, twice. I've also read and enjoyed The Heiresses and The Perfectionists series. I was super excited about her latest book The Amateurs due to be released here in the U.S. on November 1, 2016. I am so grateful to Netgalley and Disney Book Group for allowing me the egalley in exchange for my honest review.

I really enjoyed this book! Just like other books by Shepard, this book starts out with secrets, murders, gossip and lies! While other books had female lead characters, this book has 2 male main characters in addition to the females. It was a change that I really enjoyed. The Amateurs also took on a slightly older feel with main a main character being at the end of high school and in their early 20's.

Though I was very excited to read this, it was a bit of a slow start. Once I eased into the book and learned about the characters and story I was hooked! There were so many twists and turns that it kept me engaged and excited to open the book and read every chance I got. I was kept guessing throughout the story and in typical Sara Shepard fashion I was left guessing right up until the end!

This book, of course, has some romance to it. There were a few times I rolled my eyes during some romance scenes, but nothing that made me hate the book. I did feel during all the romance scenes that I just wanted to get back to the mystery at hand! With party scenes that involved alcohol, drugs and sex this is definitely not a book for the younger reader.

All in all, I really enjoyed this and look forward to the next one! I need to know what happens next! This may turn into Shepard's best series yet! A 4-star read for me.

The Amateurs is due to be released Nov 1, 2016. At the time of this blog post publishing it is currently on sale at 39% off for the Kindle Edition and 41% off for the Hardcover on Amazon!!! Pre-order it now!

Once again, thanks again to Netgalley and Disney Book Group for allowing me to read and review!

d
darcylynnepst
Jan 16, 2017

This book is incredibly similar to the Pretty Little Liars series (also by Sara). The story is around the disappearance and murder of a popular blonde girl in a rich town where "nothing bad ever happens". A group of teenagers start looking into the murder as it has not been solved yet, and as they are doing so someone starts to "mess with them" to get them to stop. All of which is right in line with PLL. However, the book keeps you guessing throughout as they try to solve the case. The last chapter totally throws a curve ball and now I cannot wait for the next book!

LoganLib_Kirra Nov 30, 2016

The Amateurs is actually a pretty good read with a story that starts with a missing teenage girl but takes an interesting twist when an online community of crime solving fanatics decide to take on her case years after it went cold. I enjoyed this story overall but the last chapter had a huge plot twist.

m
Moncor
Nov 30, 2016

Your typical Sara Shepard book - cheesy dialogue, forced pop culture references, but still so hard to put down. I did see the final, dramatic plot twist coming (although it was so shocking it still managed to surprise me). Definitely a fun read.

View All Comments

Summary

Add a Summary
ArapahoeSusanW Feb 16, 2017

Sara Shepard is back with a fresh, new YA mystery!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top