Two Tankers Down

Two Tankers Down

The Greatest Small-boat Rescue in U.S. Coast Guard History

Book - 2008
Rate this:
Globe Fearon Co
A riveting account of the greatest small-boat rescue in American history.

Off the coast of Cape Cod in 1950, a February blizzard tore not one but two oil tankers in half. This is the suspenseful true story of a U.S. Coast Guard captain and his small crew who were called out to rescue the tanker crews without a cutter or chopper or a sea plane. But Captain Bernie Weber knew well the infamous Coast Guard motto: “You have to go out. You don’t have to come back.” He took a small boat and crew out in 60-foot waves and rescued 30 men. Weber’s subsequent gold medal for valor is still revered within the U.S. Coast Guard, and this thrilling first-ever narrative is a gripping adventure story for fans of The Perfect Storm and The Hungry Ocean.



Book News
In a raging blizzard off Cape Cod in 1952, Bernie Webber and his Coast Guard crew of three volunteers rescued 30 men from the wreck of a collision between two oil tankers. Frump, a maritime journalist, tells the story of how Webber and his men won the rarely bestowed Coast Guard Gold Medal for Valor in this narrative of a dramatic sea rescue. B&w photos of the actual rescue operations are included. Annotation ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Publisher: Guilford, CT : Lyons Press, [2008]
Copyright Date: ©2008
ISBN: 9781599213378
1599213370
Branch Call Number: 910.9163 FRU
Characteristics: x, 212 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top